Why So Cynical, Bro?

Diogenes Sarcastica is getting a little bummed out today at the state of the conservative blogosphere, and I don’t blame her.  But I still don’t see a reason for too much cynicism.  There may be a lot of polarization and disagreement out there, but sometimes that can be the most fertile ground for getting at the truth.  Maybe I’m being a little too hopeful, but I always did lean a little bit more toward Epictetus and the Stoics.

DiogenesGrumpy1j

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Blogosphere, Diogenes Sarcastica, Donald Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Why So Cynical, Bro?

  1. Adrienne says:

    You may feel free to crown me with a tin foil hat. People need to wake the hell up. That is all. Back to finish staining my deck (which looks gorgeous so far.)

  2. GrimmCreeper says:

    You may be honored, or you may be disgraced, or of course you may not give a crap (the most likely and logical of the three) but yours is one of the very few blogs I read these days. Probably because of your easy going rational argument for supporting Trump. He wasn’t my first candidate. Actually he may have been one of my top ten worst at one point. BUT, the fact of the matter is it is Trump or the lying, frumpy slob under an FBI criminal investigation. I’ve given up on the Trump is our savior blogs. Sorry, not looking for a god. And I’ve long abandoned the Cruz is still our guy (even though he’s been out of the race for months) blogs. Those people are delusional. Geez, I’m almost considering reading gardening, sewing and cooking blogs. College football and hunting are still a few too many months away. Bottom line is I’m tired of disagreeing with the group I used to generally agree with on many but not all issues. And for those reasons I’ll probably keep lurking around here and the few other quasi normal people sites. Thanks for the low key approach. Cheers.

    • Thanks for the chuckle and the kudos, Brother Grimm! That’s the nicest thing anybody’s said to me in a long time. I really hear you about Trump. He was my worst choice for a long time, and I prefer to go low key, even though I’m now a supporter. We’re looking for a President, dammit, not a savior. And even though he’s won me over to thinking he has the *potential* to be a great President, he could still turn out to be a grave mistake. But as you point out, it’s still a no brainer, because the grave mistake we know about (Hillary) is worse than the one we’re not sure about. Thanks again, Bro!

    • Adrienne says:

      Well, Grimm – I hope I’m on your quasi normal people list (even though I’m bat guano crazy.)

      I do come equipped with an outstandingly beautiful back deck. This is the best it’s every looked. Of course, you know what this means. It looks so great that I’m going to do the front deck, too.

  3. Jules Smith says:

    Whilst I am at once a sage and philosopher I have always had a problem with stoicism – I think it might be the “rational” and lack of passion part. However, that make me excellent for public soap boxing if you ever need me.

  4. LL says:

    We have entered the surreal politically in America.

    The MSM ignores the fact that the odious Clinton is a criminal, she is dangerous, and the corruption of a Clinton administration would make Tammany Hall look tame.

    And the Republicans are working hard to destroy their candidate, not because he’s not conservative, but to prove a point.

    • To steal a reference from Virtual Mirage, it’s Alice in Blunderland surreal. Being mad is the new normal, though perhaps it’s always been normal in politics. Perhaps we expect too much sanity from the process, and too much competence from the MSM.

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (6-22-2016) – My Daily Musing

  6. willysgoatgruff says:

    Late here, but yeah, I live almost exactly between I-70 and I -8o….8 miles to the geographic center of the United States, but to the right, as you look at the map…

  7. Terry says:

    Ahem…getting back to the POINT…..
    Never having been there, I jumped over to DMF to see what all the ado was over.
    I quickly jumped back. It’s nasty over there :(.
    Nothing quite makes a great blog like writing a pointless boring post about pointless boring posts.
    AND THE PEOPLE THERE ! I thought I had fallen through the outhouse seat into HuffBlo ! Eeeewww…
    There’s No Place Like Home….There’s No Place Like Home….

    • Bwah hah hah *snork*! You’re killing me, Terry! Because you’re totally right. I’m such a moron for thinking Jan had a little light behind those eyes. She and Mike are two of a kind, unfortunately. Neither one of them knows what to do with an apology, for one thing. They are the only two people *IN THE WORLD* who I’ve apologized to, and been refused. And I’ve apologized to a lot of friggin’ people! What kind of sick fuck sees an earnest apology come in, and throws it back in your face? Or ignores it? Seriously sick fucks.

      I mean, look at that Lime Lite dude over there. He mildly criticizes Mike by saying that Trump’s not perfect, but he’s our only hope, so get your act together. Total gentleman. Dead nuts on. Of course, Retard Mike’s gonna blow a gasket. But Jan calls him a “cultist.” WTF??? Gimme those ruby slippers, Terry. I’m ready to go home!

Leave a Reply

