The “Grunt for Red October” Election Report from Coastal Virginia

Gruntington Post [Hampton, VA] – With about a month to go in the most important Presidential election of our lifetimes, the polls and electoral college tallies look very close, indeed.  The race between the presumptive First Hag, Hillary Clinton, and her intrepid challenger, Donaldus Maximus Trumpus is still far too close to predict the outcome.

T1.jpg

Of course, you wouldn’t know it where I live, in Non-Denver, Colorado, where folks are mostly conservative, anyway, and Hillary bumper stickers mostly say “Put Hillary in the Top Spot, On Death Row, 2016.”  But this week I’m working in coastal Virginia, which is also a key ‘battleground’ state that was originally predicted to go easily for Hillary.  Not so much anymore.

t5

In fact, both states are considered very much up for grabs at the moment.  In that light, I thought I would do a little walkabout around here, in the Chesapeake Tidewater area, to see how folks are feeling about this election on a sunny Saturday, October 1st.  I’m sure there are many Hillary supporters around here, but it’s hard to recognize them, because none of them seem to want to identify themselves with yard signs or bumper stickers.

T4.jpg

In fact, I’m now seeing entire blocks enthusiastically proclaiming love for Trump, including shopping centers and many local businesses where the proprietors have put the big blue Trump signs right out front of their businesses.

T3.jpg

Gee, I remember in past close elections, many people willing to resist their neighbors by proudly putting up Al Gore campaign signs or Obama/Biden 2012 signs to combat the Bush dynasty.  Hmmmm.  What could be going on here?

t2

Where can all those Hillary signs be hiding?

bib2

Maybe we’re looking in the wrong places?

img_5390

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in Hillary Clinton. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The “Grunt for Red October” Election Report from Coastal Virginia

  1. JCscuba says:

    In Trumpus Vivtus Taking it to my spot thanks will link back to you.

  2. Adrienne says:

    The MSM (including Fox) has been savaging Trump today. I smell fear, which smells a bit like chicken cooking.

  3. LL says:

    I like tidewater country in Virginia. It’s not at all like Richmond or that beltway nightmare. It’s almost as if you went back in time to the antebellum South. I spent time there and time can get away from you. Then there was training on the James River not far from Williamsburg, which has a subtle intensity that is rural and clearly not rural at the same time.

    But I digress. I think that Hillary has a very good chance of losing Virginia.

    • Absolutely. Ft. Eustis on the James and Naval weapons facilities on the York are very close by. I’m near the Back River at the moment, and some of the old growth forests, huge sycamores and white oaks and live oaks and magnolias give it almost a Middle Earth feel. I walk near one of the old family’s cemeteries frequently, and so many of the names on the stones were extinguished between 1861 and 1863. History is thick here. Just like the air. It will get thicker in a week when hurricane Matthew comes through.

    • Solaratov says:

      Yeah. There’s an interesting “Camp” up there.

      An interesting and fun-for-all place, as I recall.

  4. Terry says:

    It seems neither side wants to show their support in public. I have seen ZERO Hildabeast stickers or yard signs, and only a smattering of Trump stickers. And I am in a heavily conservative area.
    We are the only ones in our hood with Trump decals and yard signs, and ‘Never Hillary’ / Hillary For Prison’ stickers.
    What gives Patriots ? SHOW YOUR SUPPORT !

    • I know! Our block in Colorado finally erupted when one of the neighbors bought a bunch of Hillary for Prison signs and passed them out, but it was like pulling teeth for a while. Now they’re into it.

  5. fredd says:

    No way would I put up a Trump sign in my yard. Politics around Illinois has gotten so ugly on the left, that should I put up a Trump sign in my yard, I would guarantee my house would get egged, TP’ed and maybe my truck tires slashed or worse.

    Our ‘loyal opposition’ has turned into an angry, spiteful rabble. Democrat voters have turned into thugs around here.

    • I believe you. I wouldn’t want to be a vote courier on election day in Chicago. Tires getting slashed could be the least of the worries.

      • Solaratov says:

        I just hope that things don’t get too down & dirty. That would give the scoamf an excuse to declare martial law and declare the election results invalid. And we’d have another election under the kind auspices of the DHS (who are still trying to run this one on Nov.8).

  6. Even in the heavily-Democrat university town where I live, I’m seeing very few Hillary lawn signs or bumper stickers. I saw what I thought was a Hillary bumper sticker on the car in front of me a couple of days ago, but when I got closer I saw that it actually said “Hillary for Prison 2016.”

  7. Popular Front says:

    Hiya Grunt. I found this story out of West Virginia which is just up the road from where you are now. Dig it.

    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-37501036

    • I love it! Especially the Trump shirt on the one dude. And I’m guilty of partaking in roadkill cuisine, actually. A few years ago, our next-door neighbor had a particular deer that ate the apples out of his back yard, and they got to know its markings.

      Later in the season, the neighbor was down the road and observed the same deer leap out in front of another car and get hit. He stopped to check on the other driver, and then realized how fat and well-fed the deer was, having eaten his own apples all season. He then called the local conservation office and asked the procedure for claiming the deer, and he followed through by showing them the carcass and filling out the report.

      After butchering the deer, the neighbor shared some of the meat with us, and having heard the story, we accepted gratefully. So, we’ve eaten actual, bonafide roadkill. And it was wonderful. Best tasting apple-fed venison I’ve ever had.

    • Solaratov says:

      Don’t laugh. It might not be too long before a lot of us are eating roadkill….and not just once a year at a festival.

  8. freedom1781 says:

    In liberal Williamsburg, I see Trump signs everywhere. I’ve only seen 2 pro-Hillary bumper stickers. In my neck of the woods there are huge Trump signs all over the county. I’ve only seen 1 Hillary-Tim sign and 1 bumper sticker. In Westmoreland County, there are GIANT Hillary for Prison and Lock Her Up signs in various places.

Leave a Reply

