Pray, Dammit!

smackdownj2
Today’s Gospel Message, from Luke 18: 1-8, last 4 verses reproduced here:

For a long time the judge was unwilling, but eventually he thought, ‘While it is true that I neither fear God nor respect any human being, because this widow keeps bothering me I shall deliver a just decision for her lest she finally come and strike me.'”

The Lord said, “Pay attention to what the dishonest judge says.  Will not God then secure the rights of his chosen ones who call out to him day and night? Will he be slow to answer them?  I tell you, he will see to it that justice is done for them speedily. But when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”

We’re getting close, America.  As Luke’s Gospel says, the Just God will not hesitate to bring justice to those who ask him for it, so let us ask like our very lives and perhaps even our souls depend on it, because they probably do!  And whatever happens, let us remain faithful ’til the end, so that he will not regret the blessings and justice he’s granted us already.

ng

Future US Marine

Photo:  “Smackdown Jesus” Mosaic from the dome of the National Shrine in Washington, DC.  At least, that’s the name ZMalfoy gave it, and she’s the one who showed it to me as I took the picture back in 2011 or so.  Zoph, if you’re reading, please correct me if I got that wrong.

Personal Note:  It’s the Sunday after Crucible in San Diego for Echo Company, and we have not been informed that we should change our plans to fly out for graduation next week.  That means that Noah is now an actual grunt, officially, and the DIs will be obligated to take it easier on him and his buddies who climbed the mountain now, and they will never again hear the word ‘recruit’ shouted at them.  At least, I hope that’s the way it went.  Hoo-Rah!

About GruntOfMonteCristo

Fearless and Devout Catholic Christian First, Loving Husband and Father Second, Pissed-Off Patriot Third, Rocket Engineer Dork Last.
This entry was posted in 'Murica, General Religiousness. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pray, Dammit!

  1. I’ve always liked that mosaic and the Shrine itself.

    Good call to prayer and congrats to the Marine!

    • LL says:

      Once a Marine, always a Marine!

      • LL says:

        PS – There was a time when recruit in the Marine Corps went to church services on Sunday whether they wanted to or not. Is that still the case?

        Rifleman’s Creed:

        This is my rifle. There are many like it, but this one is mine.
        My rifle is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life.
        Without me, my rifle is useless. Without my rifle, I am useless. I must fire my rifle true. I must shoot straighter than my enemy who is trying to kill me. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I will…
        My rifle and I know that what counts in war is not the rounds we fire, the noise of our burst, nor the smoke we make. We know that it is the hits that count. We will hit…
        My rifle is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weaknesses, its strength, its parts, its accessories, its sights and its barrel. I will keep my rifle clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will…
        Before God, I swear this creed. My rifle and I are the defenders of my country. We are the masters of our enemy. We are the saviors of my life.
        So be it, until victory is America’s and there is no enemy, but peace!

  2. Adrienne says:

    Congrats to the new Marine, Grunt.

  3. Solaratov says:

    Indeed. Tell the young Marine that I am very proud of him.
    And be sure to tell him that, as bad as boot was…it only gets tougher from here on out
    (but without so much mickey mouse shit)… 😉 lol

  4. Solaratov says:

    How about a little Political terrorism.
    This sure different from any election I’ve ever been through before……
    https://sputniknews.com/news/201610161046395336-Firebomb-Republican-North-Carolina-Headquarters/

  5. Jules Smith says:

    I do so love biblical pictures. I’m busy asking God if I can stay in America forever at the moment. I think you lot need me here cos you don’t have good arrow shooters. I’m also very scary without HOT tea. I can help.

    Congratulations to your son. Top lad!

  6. barnslayer says:

    Congrats Grunt! Pray he gets a republican C-in-C in the very near future.

  7. Brig says:

    Prayers up for Trump and the rest of us as well! Congrats to The Marine, well done!

Leave a Reply

